New Leaders

Great leaders = Great schools TM

Your turn to lead?

Check to see if you are eligible to apply to our Aspiring Principals Program or our our Emerging Leaders Program.

Sign up to receive emails about applying to our programs >>

Why we do what we do

Learn more about why leadership matters in transforming schools and students' lives.

Watch the video >>

THE EPIC KNOWLEDGE SYSTEM

This online resource contains hundreds of case studies, videos, and artifacts showing how high-need schools are driving dramatic student achievement gains.

Many New Leaders have won EPIC awards for their instructional leadership practices.

EPIC Award Winner and New Leader Jennifer Garcia uses a book study to open dialogue about cultural competency.

Watch video on the EPIC Knowledge System >>

Emerging Leaders Program

The Emerging Leaders Program strengthens the leadership skills of talented teachers, coaches and assistant principals in partner districts and charter management organizations, putting participants on the pathway to the principalship while building leadership capacity across a system. Our newest program offering, the Emerging Leaders Program teaches participants powerful mindsets and skill sets to start driving achievement gains in their schools right away. If candidates live in one of our program cities, the Emerging Leaders Program is the primary pathway into the Aspiring Principals Program.

Curriculum

At New Leaders, we believe that educa­tors need to practice new habits and methods of leadership in order to truly learn them. In the Emerging Leaders Program, participants are introduced to valuable new concepts and skills and put them into action in the real world of their schools. These skills include:

  • Adult leadership: Motivating a team to believe in college success for all students and the team’s ability to realize this goal, building trusting relationships, giving constructive feedback, and leading effec­tive meetings;
  • Instructional leadership: Setting the expectation that college success is the target, guiding teams through a full data analysis cycle as well as observing and coaching teachers to improve instruction;
  • Culture leadership: Building a learning orienta­tion and sense of efficacy among team members and students focused on hard work and personal responsi­bility for one’s own development; and
  • Personal leadership: Receiving feedback and self-reflecting to continuously improve

Learn about the participant experience >>

Selection Process

Successful candidates:

  • Have a serious intention and desire to serve as a principal and are prepared to enter the principal preparation pipeline
  • Are currently serving in a school where there are significant opportunities for them to lead a consistent team of adults focused on improving instruction and culture
  • Are viewed as high-potential leadership candidates by their current school, district or charter management organization
  • Have a record of student achievement results as a teacher, team lead, leadership team member or Assistant Principal

To learn more about applying to the Emerging Leaders program, please click here.

Contact Information

To learn more about the program in each of our cities, visit the Locations page for your city of interest, or contact a local office:

Bay Area

Kendall Tripathi Parker at bayareaelp@newleaders.org or (415) 296-6422.

Charlotte

Krista Lewis-Johnson at klewis-johnson@newleaders.org or (704) 591-9520.
Daniella Williams at dwilliams@newleaders.org or (704) 796-0871.

Chicago

Tim Carnahan at tcarnahan@newleaders.org or (312) 829-6011.

Hawaii

Mary Kathryn Wells at mwells@newleaders.org or (808) 212-5341

Maryland

Mark Bailey at mbailey@newleaders.org or (443) 524-5945.

Memphis

Tisha White at twhite@newleaders.org or (901) 881-5122.

Greater New Orleans

Miesha Parker-Juluke at mparker-juluke@newleaders.org or (504) 717-7537.

New York City/Newark

Brandon Clark at bclark@newleaders.org or (646) 596-4354.

Washington, D.C.

Keith Ferguson at kferguson@newleaders.org or (202) 315-2030.

New Leaders admits program participants of any race, color, and national or ethnic origin.  For more information, please click here.

Apply to the Emerging Leaders Program

The Emerging Leaders Program grows the adult leadership capabilities of talented teachers and instructional leaders, starting them on the path to a leadership role. We are currently accepting applications for the 2014-2015 Program. For more information, feel free to reach out to our Emerging Leader Recruitment Team.

Participant Experience >>